Hello. It looks like you are visiting us from outside USA. Please choose which Amazon storefront you would like to use.
Categories

Books by well-known Innovators

The Foundation Trilogy

by
About
The Book
Isaac Asimov’s seminal Foundation trilogy—one of the cornerstones of modern speculative fiction—in a single hardcover volume. More than fifty years after their original publication, the three Foundation novels stand as classics of thrilling, provocative, and inspired world-building.

The Foundation Trilogy

by Isaac Asimov
About
The Book
Isaac Asimov’s seminal Foundation trilogy—one of the cornerstones of modern speculative fiction—in a single hardcover volume. More than fifty years after their original publication, the three Foundation novels stand as classics of thrilling, provocative, and inspired world-building.
Recommended By
What Elon Musk says

In terms of sci-fi books, I think Isaac Asimov is really great. I like the Foundation series, probably one of the all-time best.

About
The Book
What happens when machines surpass humans in general intelligence? Will artificial agents save or destroy us? Nick Bostrom lays the foundation for understanding the future of humanity and intelligent life through an utterly engrossing journey that takes us to the frontiers of Artificial Intelligence.
About
The Book
What happens when machines surpass humans in general intelligence? Will artificial agents save or destroy us? Nick Bostrom lays the foundation for understanding the future of humanity and intelligent life through an utterly engrossing journey that takes us to the frontiers of Artificial Intelligence.
Recommended By
What Elon Musk says

Worth reading Superintelligence by Bostrom. We need to be super careful with AI. Potentially more dangerous than nukes.

The Remains of the Day

by
About
The Book
A compelling portrait of the perfect English butler and of his fading, insular world postwar England. At the end of his three decades of service at Darlington Hall, Stevens embarks on a country drive, during which he looks back over his career. But lurking in his memory are grave doubts about his own faith in the man he served.

The Remains of the Day

by Kazuo Ishiguro
About
The Book
A compelling portrait of the perfect English butler and of his fading, insular world postwar England. At the end of his three decades of service at Darlington Hall, Stevens embarks on a country drive, during which he looks back over his career. But lurking in his memory are grave doubts about his own faith in the man he served.
Recommended By
What Jeff Bezos says

If you read ‘The Remains of the Day’, which is one of my favorite books, you can’t help but come away and think, I just spent 10 hours living an alternate life and I learned something about life and about regret.

About
The Book
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a comedy science fiction series, originally conceived as a radio series for BBC Radio 4. It was later written as a series of novels by the author. This edition collects in in one complete paperback volume the five classic novels from Douglas Adams’s beloved Hitchhiker series.
About
The Book
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a comedy science fiction series, originally conceived as a radio series for BBC Radio 4. It was later written as a series of novels by the author. This edition collects in in one complete paperback volume the five classic novels from Douglas Adams’s beloved Hitchhiker series.
Recommended By
What Elon Musk says

I read Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy when I was around 14 or 15. It highlighted an important point which is that a lot of times the question is harder than the answer. And if you can properly phrase the question, then the answer is the easy part.

About
The Book
For anyone who has ever wondered why suspension bridges don't collapse under eight lanes of traffic, how dams hold back-or give way under-thousands of gallons of water, or what principles guide the design of a skyscraper or a kangaroo, this book will ease your anxiety and answer your questions, JE Gordon strips engineering of its confusing technical terms, communicating its founding principles in accessible, witty prose.
About
The Book
For anyone who has ever wondered why suspension bridges don't collapse under eight lanes of traffic, how dams hold back-or give way under-thousands of gallons of water, or what principles guide the design of a skyscraper or a kangaroo, this book will ease your anxiety and answer your questions, JE Gordon strips engineering of its confusing technical terms, communicating its founding principles in accessible, witty prose.
Recommended By
What Elon Musk says

It is really, really good if you want a primer on structural design.

True Names

by
About
The Book
Once in a great while, a science fiction story is so visionary, yet so close to impending scientific developments that it becomes not only an accurate predictor, but itself the locus for new discoveries and development. True Names by Vernor Vinge, first published in 1981, is such a work. Cyberspace, Software Bots, Avatars etc are all anticipated here; this before IBM had launched the PC!

True Names

by Vernor Vinge
About
The Book
Once in a great while, a science fiction story is so visionary, yet so close to impending scientific developments that it becomes not only an accurate predictor, but itself the locus for new discoveries and development. True Names by Vernor Vinge, first published in 1981, is such a work. Cyberspace, Software Bots, Avatars etc are all anticipated here; this before IBM had launched the PC!
Recommended By
What Marc Andreessen says

if you haven’t had the pleasure, be sure to read True Names, Vinge’s 1981 novella that forecast the modern Internet with shocking clarity. Fans of Gibson and Stephenson will be amazed to see how much more accurately Vinge called it, and before Neuromancer‘s first page cleared Gibson’s manual typewriter.

Chase, Chance and Creativity

by
About
The Book
This book examines the role of chance in the creative process. James Austin tells a personal story of the ways in which persistence, chance, and creativity interact in biomedical research or any creative endeavour, drawing on his own research and examples from the history of science.

Chase, Chance and Creativity

by James H. Austin
About
The Book
This book examines the role of chance in the creative process. James Austin tells a personal story of the ways in which persistence, chance, and creativity interact in biomedical research or any creative endeavour, drawing on his own research and examples from the history of science.
Recommended By
What Marc Andreessen says

Originally written in 1978, and updated in 2003, this is the best book I’ve read on the role of luck, chance, and serendipity in medical research – or, for that matter, any creative endeavour. And because the author’s a neurologist, he has a grounding in how the brain actually exerts itself creatively.

Glasshouse

by
About
The Book
In the twenty-seventh century, accelerated technology dictates the memories and personalities of people. With most of his own memories deleted, Robin enters The Glasshouse - an experimental polity where he finds himself at the mercy of his own unbalanced psyche.

Glasshouse

by Charles Stross
About
The Book
In the twenty-seventh century, accelerated technology dictates the memories and personalities of people. With most of his own memories deleted, Robin enters The Glasshouse - an experimental polity where he finds himself at the mercy of his own unbalanced psyche.
Recommended By
What Marc Andreessen says

Stross is the single best emerging talent with several outstanding novels in various styles under his belt. Glasshouse is Stross’s latest book and perhaps the best introduction to his work. A paranoid journey into a world of intergalactic teleportation and arbitrary physical body reshaping will have you thinking twice about who you are, and how you know who you are.