Hello. It looks like you are visiting us from outside USA. Please choose which Amazon storefront you would like to use.
Categories

Book Info

True Names

by
About
The Book
Once in a great while, a science fiction story is so visionary, yet so close to impending scientific developments that it becomes not only an accurate predictor, but itself the locus for new discoveries and development. True Names by Vernor Vinge, first published in 1981, is such a work. Cyberspace, Software Bots, Avatars etc are all anticipated here; this before IBM had launched the PC!

True Names

by Vernor Vinge
About
The Book
Once in a great while, a science fiction story is so visionary, yet so close to impending scientific developments that it becomes not only an accurate predictor, but itself the locus for new discoveries and development. True Names by Vernor Vinge, first published in 1981, is such a work. Cyberspace, Software Bots, Avatars etc are all anticipated here; this before IBM had launched the PC!
Recommended by
What Marc Andreessen says

if you haven’t had the pleasure, be sure to read True Names, Vinge’s 1981 novella that forecast the modern Internet with shocking clarity. Fans of Gibson and Stephenson will be amazed to see how much more accurately Vinge called it, and before Neuromancer‘s first page cleared Gibson’s manual typewriter.